New year – looking back at 2013

Happy new year 2014 everybody!

For me the second blogging year has passed and the third one stands at the door. A good opportunity to look back at what 2013 brought!

Last year went by quickly from my perspective. This was due to huge and time-consuming changes in my life. Still I managed to publish 22 posts in the last 12 month – probably not too bad.

Topics

While I had intended to simply continue with the toolkit specific application tests, I chose to open up the blog for more diverse topics. The blogging year started with a series of memory consumption tests of various Qt-based applications. Following Canonical’s announcement of Mir I simply had to write about the Linux desktop again.

Experimenting with various Unix-like systems beside Linux during that time I chose to write about that topic, too. And being an Arch user, it suggests itself to introduce the ArchHurd and ArchBSD projects

Next was an interesting interview with the developer of the FLTK-based Equinox Desktop Environment, just before the Blog’s first birthday post.

The second half of the year started with the first GTK+ application tests. Since there are just so many terminals around which are built upon this toolkit, this was quite a bit of work. For that reason I decided to postpone further GTK+ application tests – and in fact I haven’t had the time for them up to now!

A sample of what elderlinux.org currently looks like

An American programmer got in touch with me and we soon agreed to work together on some projects. This was the initial spark for me to seriously start working on an experimental i586 distribution. Due to it progressing nicely, I registered the domain elderlinux.org which is meant to be the future home of various things related to distribution creation. I hadn’t written any html for more than 10 years and it took me quite some effort to come up with something that doesn’t instantly make your eyes bleed. Unfortunately I don’t have the time to update the page regularly.

I had used ConnochaetOS in the past and was a bit sad to see it shut down. Since I was building an Arch-inspired i586 distro, too, I decided to blog about it before it would vanish. Development of that distribution effectively stopped in 2011 and A LOT has happened since then in the rolling-release world of Arch. This made a journey possible which was more like a time-travel. In a series of three posts I described how such an old system could be (partially) updated to meet today’s standards. I had actually also updated the kernel, bootloader and made the switch from the old init-system to systemd in my VM, but I had forgotten to take screenshots and didn’t find the time to write another post about it, anyway.

While the i586 distribution is generally in a pretty usable shape, the project has already become a bit too big. It currently has repositories worth of several GB of data – and I honestly have no idea how I could share this with others. I was playing around with several other things again, anyway. I decided to put this project on hold when I gave in to the idea of going just one step back: Building something that could be used together with a big distribution (Arch) instead of being completely incompatible with anything but itself. This eventually lead to the creation of Arch:E5 and the last blog post of last year.

A little bit statistics

This kind of retrospect posts wouldn’t be complete without a bit of statistic, would it? So here it comes! Each and every month has surpassed the previous peeks by far. The blog had about 1.000 hits in 2012 – and even if you take into account that I didn’t start to blog before late June, the > 6.600 total hits of 2013 were simply amazing!

The weekly hit statistic on 12/31/2013

The least successful month was January which just barely beat December 2012 with about 320 hits. There was one month (April) which scored a little lower and two which had significantly fewer hits than the previous month. The best one of the year was October with well over 750 hits! The new all-time peak of page hits occurred on 10/11 with 85 in one day!

The monthly hit statistic on 12/31/2013

My blog got even more hits from around the world. However the top countries didn’t change much, so I’ll skip the graphic for it this time. But here’s the map:

Hits by country

Due to the higher variety and new sub-projects some new tags have been added. However these were added to recently to carry much weight.

Tags and categories

Now for some very pleasant changes: I finally started receiving the first comments which are not spam! 😉 And yes, I’m pretty happy about that.

Some comments at last!

For those interested in exact numbers (and to document these statistics for later), here’s a summary:

Monthly and yearly totals

Daily averages

Very suitable for the blog’s first birthday, it was this day that scored four trophies! The trophy case also holds medals for 10 followers and likes now, but I think this little graphic is even nicer:


Four trophies for EERIE on the blog’s birthday

Outlook

So what’s going to come this year? Well, who knows? Honestly: I don’t know. There are three things I intend to dedicate some time to: The GTK+ application tests, the Desktop Demo DVD and of course Arch:E5. But as the past year has shown there’s no chance to know before what exactly will happen. But that’s a good thing actually. So let’s just see what 2014 has in store for all of us!

Leave a Reply

