EERIE’s first birthday!

Today it’s exactly once year since I’ve made my first post here. One whole year has passed on this project and it’s time again to look back. If EERIE was a human child, it’d still be wearing diapers but would also have grown quite a bit and learned enough to make the parents proud!

Where EERIE comes from

On a personal level I was an ordinary Linux user who wanted to get to know his operating better. Distro hopping was fun (and informative) for some time but I wanted to get into it a fair bit deeper. While this of course involves a lot of reading, it’s always best to just try out things yourself. Thanks to virtual machines (which are clonable without much hassle) you can just do your experiments without fear of breaking anything critical. I did just that pretty often (things like uninstalling glibc is obviously not a smart thing to do – but there are moments you just want to know what exactly will happen if you do it anyway!). I’ve been breaking things out of curiosity sometimes (and aware of what I was about to do) but most of the time by accident or ignorance.

I had already been interested in how programs are being packaged and how the various distributions were made. Soon the question arose: “How do you actually start a distribution?” I read what I could find on that topic and went back as far as possible to the beginning of some of the big distros. Then I tried to imagine how things really started and begun to grow. I finally got hooked by the idea to try this out for myself. It wouldn’t need to be something special – maybe not even something useful in the narrow sense of it. Just the result of a little playing around and a personal project for the sake of learning how you do it.

Linux From Scratch (LFS) would be an excellent thing to begin with, I thought. And since I had been reading a lot on the net I figured that I might as well share my experience with the project. The worst thing that could happen would be that nobody cared for it but probably a few people might find it informative. I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to just give it a try as well. However I never completed LFS since I soon became distracted by plenty of other things!

During my preparations (I was just reading the Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) since I had always found the filesystem organization a bit confusing) I begun to wonder if I really should just build a distro “by the book” (which LFS is literally all about) or if that wouldn’t mean a missed chance to do something else at the same time. There were a few things with every distro that I wasn’t happy with. Wouldn’t it be a good idea then to build an experimental distro which tried to do things differently in those cases? I decided to create a free blog and just start with it (and see if I have the discipline to stick with it). When I talked to Pheak about my ideas he liked them and joined the project. So far we’ve worked on it independently and he remained more or less in the background, helping me out when I ran into problems and giving suggestions.

The project

Pheak and I decided that the goal for project EERIE (short for “Elementary energy-efficient resource-saving internet experiment” ;)) would be to come up with the base for an experimental desktop distro. So its primary task was and is conducting a series of tests to find a base suitable for it. Also a subproject emerged from the desktop environment tests: The DDD (Desktop Demo DVD). It’s all about bringing as many DEs as possible together on one live medium so that anybody interested in it can easily try them out and compare them to each other.

What has been accomplished so far? A lot actually.

  • I started with describing how I came to Linux (more or less to get familiar with blogging at all)
  • and by offering a few thoughts on Linux for desktop use.
  • First I tried to do my tests with Gentoo but eventually changed to Arch (which Pheak admittedly proposed right from the start).
  • The desktop tests were published in a series of 5 posts (dealing with 3 – 5 DEs each!).
  • Then the various toolkits were discussed and compared briefly.
  • After that I wrote about live cd creation on Arch and released the first alpha version of the “DDD”.
  • The next posts contained thoughts about which applications are crucial for a desktop distribution.
  • Following this I posted comparisons of Qt-based programs to find out which were the most light-weight ones.
  • While I intended to release a new version of the “DDD” and then go on with the GTK applications I postponed these topics and wrote about something I was just messing with at that time: Other Unix-like systems and their Arch variants.
  • And last but not least I managed to get an interview with the EDE (a FLTK-based light-weight DE) developer!

But that’s not all. There are a few other things I kept silent about. While I won’t reveal anything yet, let me tell you that these mean going a huge step beyond of what has been done so far (just doing tests and such)! šŸ™‚

The blog

I’ve already taken a look back after 3 month and after 6 month. I’m quite happy that the trend of more and more visitors coming here has continued.

There are days with more and days with fewer hits but there has not been a single day this year without any visitors. In the 12 month it has existed so far, the blog already scored well over 3,600 hits (exactly 3,625 as I’m writing this)!

Number of daily visitors, etc.

While the weekly hits are of course also fluctuating a bit, they cover a much longer period of time and thus show pretty well that overall the number of hits is increasing. As if it were called for this week is an exceptionally good one.

Weekly hits and visitors

While last year saw November scratching at the 300 hits per month mark, January and February have crossed it. March then stormed forward, skipping 400 hits and coming close to 500! And since June is not over yet – maybe it’ll be the first month to exceed 500?

Monthly hits statistics

So far I got visitors from 85 (!) countries in the world, 7 of which have over 100 hits. Here’s the top countries 30:

Visitors by country

Also the average hits have increased steadily. The best month last year was November with 10 average hits per day; currently it looks like June has doubled this with 20 hits per day on average! The number of total hits has even more than doubled when we compare the six month of last year and of this year. 2,600 hits alone in the first half-year of 2013 – and counting!

Daily and monthly averages

I can only say that I’m very impressed by these values. Of course I had hoped that some people cared for what I post here (especially since I’ve put quite a few hours of work into it). But even in my wildest dreams I would not have hoped for well over 3,500 visitors in the first year! I also didn’t dare to think I would be able to write 3 posts every month (on average). 36 posts so far – I think that’s a nice achievement.

But none of all that is what actually makes me happy the most. While hits were also increasing before, I was really missing feedback. Now I’ve finally got my first comments and thanks to that got in touch with another light-weight FOSS enthusiast (and we’re discussing the details of something I’m looking forward to reveal to you later this year)!

What else can I tell you? Well, you probably already know it, but few days ago I, too, was witness to the fact that spam really is EVIL!!!!!!!!!1111one For proof just look here:

666 – the number of the spam!

And just like in my two previous retrospect posts here are some of the (funny or unusual) search engine terms which lead to the blog:

  • qt3 games for linux
  • game windows 95
  • archbsd pacstrap fails
  • “dos gui” tool download
  • ede live cd
  • best fltk based applications
  • extraordinary linux distro
  • fltk webkit
  • eeire linux
  • windows 2000 control panel
  • installing archhurd
  • xfdos forum
  • “nowadays” distribution with trinity desktop
  • future of linux desktop 2013
  • windows 3.11 wallpaper
  • fltk 3.0
  • energy efficient linux
  • how to start plasma from tty2
  • 56647680 b to mb
  • fltk vs fox vs tk
  • xfdos
  • linux exotic desktop distribution

What’s next?

So what can you expect from EERIE in the future? Of course official announcements of what I made hints of above. Other than that I want to resume work on the “DDD” and get the tests with the GTK+ applications done. Not sure in which order.

And then there’s of course a lot of other things to investigate when planing a new distro. Which standard C library to use? Which compiler to build with? Which package management system to choose? There’s enough to do so we won’t get bored!

Leave a Reply

