Eerie’s ‘i’ and last ‘e’ – how does the net work?

The ‘i’ and last ‘e’ in Eerie stand for internet experiment. Yes, “eerie” as a project has several faces. It’s primarily about the creation of a new light-weight distribution (which alone involves a lot of things to consider – and to write about ;)). But to be honest, I had never blogged before nor did I know much about this particular activity. So it’s exploring new worlds for me and I’d like to share that with you (if you care, that is). Like the question: Can a project today really work without the so-called social networks?

Up to this post, I have not advertised this blog by whatever means. Not mentioned it in any forum post, not in the signature nor in any profile or via twitter or anything. No search engine optimization of the content, no nothing.

I was surprised that this is actually my 15th (!) post already… It’s exactly three months now that I’m blogging about my thoughts about and experiments with Linux. Who would have guessed that I’d manage to keep up with writing new entries again and again? Anyway, I think that it’s time to take a look at the site stats and decide if the current way was a complete failure or not.

Some statistics


Since I created the blog, Eerie had more than 250 hits, visitors from over 40 countries (some of which I admit that I know absolutely nothing about). I’m not covering June here, since that was just one week, anyway. In July, Eerie had 42 visitors with an average of 1 daily hit. August saw an increase to 91 total hits – a daily average of 3. And in September now, which is not even over yet, the blog was already visited by well over 100 people for a daily average of 5 people. The all-time average is 3 hits per day and the busiest days saw 15 hits. The countries most visitors came from are: 1) Switzerland, 2) Germany, 3) USA, 4) Netherlands and 5) UK.

Current daily statistics

Some funny search engine terms

Up to the beginning of August, days where my blog was visited by anybody except for Pheakuser or myself (our hits are not counted as visitors since we are logged in) were rather rare. People stumbled across Eerie while searching for things like:

doom95 boot screen
start button windows 3.11
paintbrush icon windows 3.11
water elemental warcraft orcs vs humans
dos vesa driver example

These refer to some pictures I uploaded while talking about DOS, Win3.x, Win9.x and computer games in the posts:
First things first – how I came to Linux Pt. 1 and Pt. 2

More specific Linux topics

After the posts in early August, which contained much more common catchwords, more visitors found the blog. And according to the search engine terms, they might easily be much closer to the group of people I’m actually blogging for:

light linux
installing gnome 3 on a new gentoo box
gentoo compared to arch linux
xinit and openbox
“virtualbox-archlinux-additions” “xorg-server”

Visitor’s countries this week

With predominantly searches like that, we’re not quite there, but it gets a lot closer without any doubt. Things changed again when I launched the desktop environments test. Since the day where I put up the first post of the series, Eerie had only four days without any visitor! During a period of two-and-a-half weeks, the blog was visited every day. Here are some SE terms again:

archlinux opencde
memory usage comparison of xfce and lxde
linux arch kde memory usage
memory usage linux desktop environments
linux desktop environments
razor qt memory usage
qt based desktops

Much better, eh?

Backlinks and such

Eerie has also got a few backlinks that I’m aware of as somebody came to the blog by clicking them. The most interesting one is surely that Eerie’s tests were mentioned on planet.lxde.org! Also a fellow blogger here on WP reblogged one of my articles. Cool thing for sure! I only wish that my visitors would not remain so silent and actually leave me a comment now and then! While I had 50+ spam comments already, there’s not one real comment there (save for Pheakuser’s welcome comment).

Visitor’s countries 06/24 – 09/23 (not displaying some smaller countries)

But altogether I’m quite happy with the project. I’ve already learned much about Linux (which happens to be my original intent) and I think that especially the desktop tests may have helped some people to get a better overview of the rather complicated desktop situation of Linux today.

Moving on

This early part of Eerie was very interesting – at least for me. It’s true that a little over 250 hits in three months is not really much (especially since WP really counts hits and not unique visitors)! Still it was nice to see how things work on the net and what impact the various topics have on search engines.

So what now? Well, I plan to advertize Eerie in the future. Not any aggressive advertisement of course, but I’m going to mention it here and there. Let’s see if that’s going to make a difference again!

What’s next?

I want to discuss the various GUI toolkits next. Expect an article about such TKs in general.

Leave a Reply

